Garden Gait

There’s no way I can pickle the onions of your inner breath
storm the salad at your bequest
meet vegetables halfway round the world.
I’m an avuncular gardener but
I can’t be dry soil to your wet beets
pray desserts or stick carrots in my hair.
I’m simply a born again parsley with a corn heart
happy to jalapeno your green chile if I can
tomato clocks tick and cabbage time is close
but I really cant dill-weed the predicament of your asparagus
sky flowers of light, light happiness, oh eggplant
I’m a victory garden, not just a patio pot of ornamentals
but I really do have dirty spinach feet and you, only you
brought broccoli into my life, wife, oh basil beauty,
oh garden peas you are the best, please pray for my
green beans, and heavenly lettuce, spinach, lettuce, let us
bolt, heavenly.

larry goodell/2003/placitas, nm

About larry goodell

Poet, voice theater, open space for others, helping hands, sensual paradise here on earth reinvigorated by organic gardening, spirits of New Mexico dancing....
This entry was posted in poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

