Albuquerque Poets, 1980, A Mimeographed List

albuquerque poetsalbuquerque poets 2

A pretty impressive list of mostly active poets, to the best of my knowledge, I compiled in November, 1980 . . . several are no longer alive here on Earth, some I have no idea what they may be up to or where they might be.

The Emerson quote I rather presumptuously added is: “When I go into my garden with a spade, and dig a bed, I feel such an exhilaration and health that I discover that I have been defrauding myself all this time in letting others do for me what I should have done with my own hands.” R. W. Emerson, 1841

This list is mimeo’d on a Rex Rotary desktop machine on Twiltone paper . . . and this must have been during the heyday of the fruitful and helpful Rio Grande Writers Association that Rudy and Patricia Anaya and David Johnson and others founded . . .

Any comments /reflections/ welcome always . . .

larry

About larry goodell

Poet, voice theater, open space for others, helping hands, sensual paradise here on earth reinvigorated by organic gardening, spirits of New Mexico dancing....
Image | This entry was posted in live poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Albuquerque Poets, 1980, A Mimeographed List

  1. pcallen says:

    I love it, I recognize some of the names, living and not so, but “old” of 1980 is what is not old at all, in fact, Western Civilization was quite young then.

Leave a Reply

