Living Batch Bookstore (more pieces of history)

Living Batch front desk Blaisdell and Janet Maher

Photograph by Latif Harris

Gus Blaisdell, Owner, and Janet Maher, working at the front desk checking in books. Notice, yes, card catalogs, the microfiche viewer for checking stock at Ingrams, a book distributor, plus the big volumes of Books In Print . . . Janet is now teaching at the Department of Fine Arts, Visual Arts/Studio Arts, Loyola University in Maryland.

Janet wrote concerning this first article, The Living Batch (Pieces of History), “These photos grab me in a way I don’t expect. I can’t even read this all the way through – yet – nor the book. But so glad you’re doing this! I remember that Creeley reading and the party we had at the house before it began. Recently bought and planted an amaryllis bulb in a pot for Christmas and thought of Peaches selling them outside the store. So great to hear from Pat recently. I am very grateful for this complicated time, an entire lifetime within all the chapters that are still, somehow, continuing.” Janet Maher, November 17, 2012

See Paticia Nelson’s article
and Geary Hopson’s memories of the Batch.

carl christensen as filmaker 1974

Carl Christensen, many years the Manager at the store, was a filmmaker, a tile designer and maker, a devotee of stereoscopic photography, a cartoonist, a practicing Buddhist facilitating sesshins regularly, along with Seiju Bob, afterhours at the Batch. This card is a photograph of Carl taken by his brother, Robert Christensen, in 1974. This photo post card is copyrighted. Thank you, Bob.

Larry Goodell

About larry goodell

Poet exploring his viable extensions - publisher, performer, playwright - hand to hand help in creating spaces for poetry to be live in - reading events, recordings, online and tangible publications in the vocal spirit of his New Mexico.
This entry was posted in art, drawings, fiction, live poetry, poetry, publication, spirituality and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Living Batch Bookstore (more pieces of history)

  1. Latif Harris says:

    hi larry I think i took that picture but looking for negatives (remember those?) from the trip I made in 1983 would be a difficult task. I am very familiar with the photo of Gus, know I have seen it more than once since that time. I will look through piles of stuff in many boxes to see if I can find a copy of the print. I remember reading there and what a wonderful time it was. Seeing all my old friends from 60’s — the wild times at the U and in Placitas. Ann Quin was the only witness at my second marriage in London 1969 at the Kensington Registry. Hope all is well and your amazing energy over the years has added so much to the world of poetry, keep on dear friend

  2. John Maddox Roberts says:

    In the fall of 1970 I left Vietnam and the Army and went back to college at UNM (I’d been kicked out in ’67, thus the Army). There was this new bookstore across the street from campus, near Frank’s Pizza and I fell in love with it. Plus they didn’t kick me out for browsing for hours without buying anything. One day I found “The Anarchist’s Cookbook” and was astounded to find a section on improvised weapons, explosives and booby traps. It was lifted straight from a manual that I’d needed my secret clearance even to look at in the Army. Wild times. I began writing seriously at that time and the Living Batch played a part in my becoming a professional novelist. Thanks for these blogs.
    John Maddox Roberts

Leave a Reply

